Ranatunga re-elected Colts chief with plans for major developments | Sunday Observer

Ranatunga re-elected Colts chief with plans for major developments

27 December, 2020
Nishantha Ranatunga
Nishantha Ranatunga

Nishantha Ranatunga was unanimously re-elected as the president of Colts Cricket Club at its annual general meeting held on December 12 while the club drew up plans to celebrate its 150th year in 2023 with a state of the art sports facility that would included a gymnasium, swimming pool, streamlined dining and bar facilities, dressing rooms and other additions.

Eastman Narangoda, Chaminda Vaas and K. Shakthidasan were elected as vice presidents while Trevor Rajaratnam was re – elected patron.

Jagath Savanadasa and K Mathivanan were re-elected as vice patrons while Brigadier Shiran Abeysekera was elected as secretary and M. Ratnaharan as treasurer.

Rajeev Munasinghe was elected as assistant secretary and Chandika Jayawardena as the assistant treasurer.

Dinesh Wickremanayake was elected as the club captain and Dharshika de Silva as the social and indoor games secretary.

Kusal Janith Perera was appointed as the cricket captain, Dias Muthukuda as the billiards captain, Nuwan Seneviratne as the hockey captain and Subodha Jayasinghe as the women’s hockey captain.

The club expects its Phase A development project to be completed by the middle of next year which includes a three deck pavilion already under construction.