Sportsmen who have become Ministers | Sunday Observer

Sportsmen who have become Ministers

Nearly everyone may know their political capabilities but not many may be aware that some of the Cabinet Ministers and State Ministers in the new Sri Lanka parliament have represented their schools in sports.

But the question that many will want to ask is to what extent can they abide by the rules of fair play in their public conduct in the same way they learnt the norms of sportsmanship.

The most renowned of them all is the new Youth Affairs and Sports Minister Namal Rajapaksa who donned the Sri Lanka rugby jersey.


Following is a list of some of them:

Minister of Industries: Wimal Weerawansa (Cricket-Tissa Central College, Kalutara)

Minister of Highways: Johnston Fernando (Rugby-St. Anne’s College)

Minister of Tourism: Prasanna Ranatunga (Cricket-Ananda College)

Ministers of Sports: Namal Rajapaksa (Rugby-S. Thomas’ College and Sri Lanka)

Minister of Gems and Jewellery: Lohan Ratwatte (Rugby-Trinity College)

Minister of Rural Housing: Indika Anuruddha (Athletics-St. Peter’s College, Negombo)

Minister of Rural Infrastructure: Thenuka Vidanagamage (Basketball-Trinity College)

Minister of Public Services: Janaka Bandara Tennekoon (Cricket-Dharmaraja College)

Minister of Local Apparel Products: Dayasiri Jayasekera (Athletics-Mayurapada Central College, Narammala)