Kumar at the helm of Mercantile hockey | Sunday Observer

Kumar at the helm of Mercantile hockey

The Mercantile Hockey Association held its 64th Annual General Meeting recently at the Burgher Recreation Club (BRC) where Kumar de Silva a former sticker who represented BRC, Colombo HA and the Sri Lanka President’s XI was elected as the President for the ensuing year 2020-2021.

Manjula Wijemanne, former Anandian, Sri Lanka Schools, CR & FC, Old Anandians, Singer, Brown & Company who served as the President for seven long years stepped down from the post and was appointed as Vice Patron.

Speaking on the occasion legendary past President and Life member of the Mercantile Hockey Association Dennis Rosayro said that Wijemmane had the honour of being the head of the two biggest hockey associations, the Colombo HA and Mercantile HA and paid a glowing tribute for the yeoman services he rendered.

He further said that the baton passes on to an another thoroughbred Kumar de Silva who has earmarked several development projects, such as player, coaching, umpiring and back-end staff development.


Patron: Bryan Baptist (Mercantile Produce Brokers)

Vice Patrons: Dr Rohitha Silva, Deva Ellepola, Tharaka Ranwala, Ramesh Schaffter, Manjula Wijemanne

President: Kumar de Silva (SRB Logistics Ceylon

Vice Presidents: Asif Bary, (SRB Logistics Ceylon), V. Balagopi, (Price Water House Coopers), M.Juragan Majid (Expo Lanka Pharmaceuticals), Christopher Tissera (SRB Logistics Ceylon), Ajith de Silva,(Browns Group)

Hony Secretary: Asif Bary, (SRB Logistics Ceylon)

Assistant Secretary: Laxmananraj Ganeshkmar, (Orient Insurance)

Treasurer: ChandanaWeregama (Sampath Bank)

Assistant Treasurer: CJ Suduarachchi (HNB Group)

Executive Committee: Sumith Jayasena, (Commercial Bank), MJM Irshad, (Seylan Bank), Charitha Senanayake, (HNB Group), Sameera Ushantha, (Sampath

Bank), Shammika Meegahapola, (MAS Holdings), Gihan Peiris, (Allianz Insurance), Mark Fernando, (HSBC), Nipuna Nirmal, (David Peiris Motor Company)

Selection Committee: Kumar de Silva, V. Balagobi, Sameera Ushantha

Tournament Committee: Christopher Tissera (Chairman), Laxmanraj Ganeshkumar, Sameera Ushantha, Jiffry Irshad